Shop

The In-Betweens

eBook (ePub)
This item has not been rated yet
Price: $6.00
Beginning with the challenges of how his White father and Black mother met, with their desire “to run away and start fresh and new”—resulting in a sometimes “pretend family”—to a near-archetypal description of his grandfather having just cut the grass as the author watches with a swollen lip and a black eye, to incessant moments in which different expressions of masculinity get inculcated, Davon Loeb frequently captures the disturbing poesy of life growing up. With painstaking detail, this work is in the vein of James McBride’s 'The Color of Water', Justin Torres’s 'We the Animals', and Jamaica Kincaid’s 'Annie John', 'The In-Betweens' is a meditation on bruise and healing. Loeb’s struggles become snapshots of how transformation occurs even where shards have been piled, where one waits “for something to happen, like flashes of red and blue sirens pulsing.” A truly extraordinary new voice! ~ Roy G. Guzmán,... More > author of 'Restored Mural for Orlando'< Less
Available in ePub Format

Ratings & Reviews

Log in to review this item
Lulu Sales Rank: 315481
There are no reviews for the current version of this product
Refreshing...
There are no reviews for previous versions of this product
Refreshing...

Product Details

ISBN
9781925536577
Edition
First edition
Published
December 10, 2018
Language
English
File Format
ePub
File Size
264.86 KB
Product ID
23906571

Formats for this Ebook

ePub
Required Software Any ePub Reader
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch... (See More)
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Flowing Text
Printable? Yes
Report This Content to Lulu >

Moderation of Questionable Content

Thank you for your interest in helping us moderate questionable content on Lulu. If you need assistance with an order or the publishing process, please contact our support team directly.

How does this content violate the Lulu Membership Agreement?

Keywords

Listed In

More From Davon Loeb

The In-Betweens The In-Betweens By Davon Loeb Paperback:
$14.00