Shop

Verlor'n

eBook (PDF), 316 Pages
(5 Ratings)
Price: $6.00
An unlikely search party is formed to find out what Master Ken-Zo, the missing alchemist, has discovered that is so secretive, he is willing to violate his oath and risk exile. Travel along with Commander Horton, Ranger Brendal and Apprentice Terese as they venture into the heart of the Wildlands - a place where heretics and strange animals dwell in complete lawlessness.
Available in PDF Format

Ratings & Reviews

Log in to review this item
5 People Reviewed This Product
  • By slwolf
    Jun 29, 2011
    I loved this book! I am amazed, because I am normally not a fantasy reader, but a friend recommended it and I thought it was excellent. Reading this book is like going on an adventure into an unknown land with strange language, strange creatures, violence, mystery and tons of suspense. Once I got to the middle I really couldn't put it down until I reached the end. But what's so amazing about the book is that while the adventure and action keep you enthralled, the subtextual commentary on environmental issues, racism, classism and sexism really make you think at the same time that you're having fun. I recommend this book to anyone who likes really smart, creative, witty and thought-provoking writing.
  • By tscott
    May 30, 2011
    I just finished reading Verlor'n for the second time and found the book even better than when I read it initially. Fans of Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" and "The Hobbit," Stephen Donaldson's "Lord Foul's Bane," as well as George R. R. Martin's "Game of Thrones" series will love the fantasy world Dokken has created in this first installment of the Dominium trilogy. It's hard to believe this is Dokken's maiden voyage into the world of fantasy writing. His imagination, character development and skeptical view of all things makes for a very entertaining read. The parallels between Verlor'n's fantasy world and today's society are both comical and thought-provoking. It's rare to find a novel in this genre that can entertain fantasy enthusiasts while at the same time provide no-holds barred commentary on current issues of class, politics, environment and society in general. This is no fluff reading, so be prepared to think. One piece of advice - don't... More > get too attached to the characters, because unlike fairy tales where everyone lives happily ever after, this book has a real-life edge to it and your favorite character just might meet a very tragic end. Bravo Dokken! I'll be first in line when Book Two comes out.< Less
  • By amschlegel
    May 28, 2011
    Just finished reading Verlor'n. Didn't think I could get caught up in a fantasy type book, but the more I read, the harder it was to put down. The author opens up a way of thinking about our world and those that inhabit it...or maybe it's not of our world?! He develops the characters and their particular situation to the point of the reader wanting to know more. Can't wait till volumes two and three come out.
  • By Eric Plumb
    May 27, 2011
    A fresh and interesting take on the "quest" fantasy novel. Dokken paints a gritty, realistic world with deeply realized and colorful characters. He drops you right into the world with no warning and stands your expectations on their head - each plot twist comes as a surprise, even when you're starting to expect the unexpected. If I had an issue, it's that sometimes the motivation of characters is opaque - often you don't find out why they did something until later. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, though - it makes me want to read the next book to find out what happens.
  • By throckmottle
    May 7, 2011
    Great book, loved it, so well written, and so cleverly written, bit slow at the start to understand the characters, but it soon fires up, and I couldn't put it down. Hurry up and write the sequel.
Refreshing...
There are no reviews for previous versions of this product
Refreshing...

Product Details

Published
September 27, 2011
Language
English
Pages
316
File Format
PDF
File Size
2.27 MB

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch... (See More)
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes
Report This Content to Lulu >

Moderation of Questionable Content

Thank you for your interest in helping us moderate questionable content on Lulu. If you need assistance with an order or the publishing process, please contact our support team directly.

How does this content violate the Lulu Membership Agreement?

Keywords

Listed In

More From E. F. Dokken

Verlor'n Verlor'n By E. F. Dokken Paperback:
$15.64