Shop

Ratings & Reviews

Log in to review this item
Lulu Sales Rank: 240519
2 People Reviewed This Product
  • By Christina Brewster
    Aug 15, 2011
    Intriguing artwork and science fiction that truly transports.
  • By Marie Phillips
    Aug 15, 2011
    This is a review from a dear friend who passed away last year-my friend, mentor and agent David Ayscue. The book is best described as “an alien family saga.” This tale is suitable for science fiction readers who enjoy reading stories from the alien point of view. This book fits the niche that includes Robert Sawyer’s FAR-SEER, Lisanne Norman’s SHOLAN ALLIANCE series, and David Brin’s Trilogy which included INFINITY’S SHORE. This book is not exactly like any of the above, but probably most like Robert Sawyer’s FAR-SEER, and its sequels. In his books, human involvement with the Quintaglios is zero, whereas the characters in ON MATISSIA WINGS have some contact with humanity. This brief contact forever changes the Furlitian people in more ways than they ever imagined possible. Human bias generally assumes most sentient civilized alien life must be humanoid or primate-based, which may not be the reality at all. With a twist on an old theme, it is stressed, in subtle ways through Furlitian... More > culture, how real freedom and personal responsibility can help any society produce good people, without any strict taboos, religious fanaticism, and overbearing governments. The illustrations -- a mix of freehand artwork, real photos, and computer-generated graphics -- include detailed hand drawings of the characters. These, plus the cover, are integral to the book. Who knows better what a Furlite looks like than their creator? The world is fully realized; the depth of characterization is … epic, wondrous. Reminiscent in some respects of Military SF, in the tradition of Heinlein and Asimov, told from the point of view of the aliens -- they are PEOPLE, with their own culture, and … they are better people than we are.< Less
Refreshing...
There are no reviews for previous versions of this product
Refreshing...

Product Details

ISBN
9781257647743
Edition
1st edition
Published
May 28, 2011
Language
English
Pages
704
Binding
Hardcover (dust-jacket)
Interior Ink
Black & white
Weight
2.21 lbs.
Dimensions (inches)
6 wide x 9 tall
Report This Content to Lulu >

Moderation of Questionable Content

Thank you for your interest in helping us moderate questionable content on Lulu. If you need assistance with an order or the publishing process, please contact our support team directly.

How does this content violate the Lulu Membership Agreement?