Search Results: 'Bonnie Turner'

Search

×
×
×
×
7 results for "Bonnie Turner"
Face the Winter Naked By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $16.35 $13.08 You Save: 20%
Ships in 3-5 business days
(3 Ratings)
Daniel Tomelin, a battle-weary veteran haunted by the carnage of the First World War, abandons his family in the Great Depression and goes on the road in search of relief from his soul-shaking... More > trauma. The life of a freight-hopping hobo appeals to Daniel more than he wants to admit. But he insists he’s not a bum—he’s a family man, a carpenter, a dowser, a down-and-out victim of the Depression, whose war flashbacks accompany him through the Ozark hills of southern Missouri. Compassionate, humorous, and warm, despite the economic hardships of the era, the novel appeals to readers who enjoy tales of survival in the Great Depression; stories of desperate men who couldn't cope with the realities of war or financial ruin; men who dearly loved their families but hadn't the courage to stay and accept responsibility. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zce8e6jV8R4< Less
DRUM DANCE By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $15.35 $11.51 You Save: 25%
Ships in 3-5 business days
(1 Ratings)
Seventeen-year-old David Jansson moves to an isolated fur-trading post at Gjoa Haven to live with his father, Per Jansson, manager for the Hudson’s Bay Company. David hasn't seen his dad for... More > five years, and the hot-tempered man he finds is not the gentle father he remembers—he has become a domineering, abusive alcoholic. A loving reunion between the two seems unlikely as father and son desire the same girl; the Inuit shaman ignores local customs and chooses the white youth for his apprentice; and Per hides a chilling family secret behind a bottle of rum. To escape an intolerable situation in a land where escape is nearly impossible, David stubbornly risks his life by underestimating the weather ... and his own heart. A young-adult coming-of-age novel with paranormal overtones, Drum Dance is set in Canada’s central Arctic in the late 1930s, in the same location where explorers froze to death searching for the Northwest Passage. (Teens/Adults)< Less
The Ghost of Calico Acres By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $20.95 $14.67 You Save: 30%
Ships in 3-5 business days
(2 Ratings)
Haunting memories lurk in the dark corners of this mysterious walk from the past! When Dr. Marc St. Clair inherits his great-aunt Miriam’s old Victorian house at Calico Acres, in SW... More > Wisconsin, her Will states that he and his beautiful, pampered wife, Summer, must live in the house for one year before they can own it. But the house is rumored to be haunted, and his wife would rather stay at her parents’ luxurious country home in Iowa. After a disastrous honeymoon, and a riding accident that left Summer confined to a wheelchair — bitter and full of self-pity — Marc believes that for their marriage to work, they must move away from her family. He desperately wants the house, and must learn who or what is haunting Calico Acres before the year is up, or risk losing his inheritance and the woman he loves. Little does he realize how close he is to losing both. For more books by Bonnie Turner, please visit her webpage: http://my.athenet.net/~aurorawolf< Less
Spirit Lights By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $9.65 $7.72 You Save: 20%
Ships in 3-5 business days
A coming-of-age novel for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which a young French boy learns to love and let go. Returning to the Arctic after a two-year absence, 12-year-old... More > Jean-Paul Ardoin has overcome his fear of the dark, only to discover his best Inuit friend Chinook is terrified of the Northern Lights! Polar bears, huskies, auroras that speak--and danger in the Arctic. Sequel to "The Haunted Igloo."(Ages 12 & up)< Less
Down the Memory Hole By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $12.65 $9.49 You Save: 25%
Ships in 3-5 business days
Summer vacation sucks when 12-year-old Buzz Collins shares his room and emotional space with his grandfather, who has Alzheimer’s disease, and his parents forbid him to associate with his best... More > friend, Mitch. The thought of giving up his friendship is bad enough. But how can he relate to someone who forgets his grandson’s name, wears adult diapers, and thinks dog biscuits are people cookies—someone who could die in the night and scare Buzz right out of puberty. Buzz thinks Alzheimer’s is caused by a traumatic event, such as the train accident that killed Grandpa’s brother Barkley in childhood. The situation turns deadly when Buzz and Mitch attempt to cure Grandpa of Alzheimer’s disease by recreating the train accident on a hot summer day. People who enjoyed the movie "Stand by Me" will enjoy Down the Memory Hole. (Ages 12 & up)< Less
Footprints in Time: A Walk in Sacajawea's Moccasins By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $9.60 $4.80 You Save: 50%
Ships in 3-5 business days
(2 Ratings)
When America was young, many individuals left their footprints in the sands of time as they explored the unknown from east to west. In 1805, a young Shoshone woman named Sacajawea joined the Lewis... More > and Clark expedition as an interpreter, and with a papoose on her back, helped explore America’s northwest while searching for a route to the Pacific Ocean.This time-honored true story of the hardships of the expedition, in particular that of Sacajawea and her baby son, Jean-Baptist (Pomp), is now retold in a different format for young readers.(Ages 8-12) < Less
The Haunted Igloo By Bonnie Turner
Paperback: List Price: $12.95 $9.07 You Save: 30%
Ships in 3-5 business days
For someone afraid of the dark, living in the Arctic is a severe test of courage. There the sun doesn't shine all winter. Jean-Paul, a young Canadian boy, struggles to hide his fear and adjust to... More > life in the Northwest Territories, where he is taunted and excluded from activities by a group of Inuit boys because of his small size and a limp caused by a birth defect. When Jean-Paul finally succeeds in impressing the boys with the tricks he's taught his husky, Sasha, they agree to let him join their club, the Ice Patrol. But as part of the initiation, they force him into a deserted igloo rumored to be haunted, where he must remain for two hours. The forced imprisonment, with no light and only Sasha for company, proves to be just the beginning of the most serious challenges to face Jean-Paul in the harsh Arctic environment. (Ages 8-12+)< Less