Search Results: 'Murder Slim Press'

Search

×
×
×
×
11 results for "Murder Slim Press"
Nam By Robert McGowan
Paperback: $21.75
Ships in 3-5 business days.
Derived of the author’s Vietnam War experience, the thirty-seven stories in this sometimes harrowing, sometimes hilarious collection look back at the Vietnam War from a distance of forty or... More > more years, nearly a half-century, and via the perspectives of not only the soldiers themselves, but also their children, spouses, siblings, parents, friends. Nothing comparable to this collection exists within the literature growing out of the Vietnam War. NAM is hardly just another batch of macho war stories. These short fictions, most of them memoir-based, neither glorify nor even excuse war but come forward instead as eloquent testament to the tragic lunacy of it.< Less
Loners By Mark SaFranko
Paperback: $19.70
Ships in 3-5 business days.
Murderers and serial killers...Jilted lovers and outcasts... Broken men and lost women.... Loners. Cutting across genres for more than 20 years, Mark SaFranko has excelled in charting the life of... More > the outsider. This collection includes nine of SaFranko's stories... all shot through with his trademark realism. 'New York Times' bestselling crime author Seymour Shubin ['Anyone's My Name'] introduces the stories, hailing Loners as "a collection of brilliant short stories that had me twisting inwardly as I read them...They are magnificent." Mark SaFranko's tales will appeal to fans of the first-person realism of Fante and Bukowksi, while the spiralling effects of being an outsider have drawn comparisons to Harry Crews ['The Gospel Singer'] and Chester Himes ['A Rage In Harlem']. Some of the stories will shock ["Just Next Door"], some will thrill ["Alley Night"], some will provoke thought ["Life Change"] but all have the page-turning energy of writers such as Joe R. Lansdale ['Mucho Mojo'].< Less
The Angel By Tommy Trantino
Paperback: $13.08
Ships in 3-5 business days.
Out of print for almost 30 years, Tommy Trantino’s 'Lock The Lock' is a lost classic of authentic literature read by a precious few. This chapbook collects the central story of 'Lock The... More > Lock': “The Angel,” which charts the events surrounding Trantino’s arrest and conviction for the murder of two New Jersey policemen in 1963. Lauded by the leading writers and thinkers of its generation, “The Angel” is essential reading for lovers of gritty, outsider literature. “I haven’t read a book in a long time that has hit me so hard -- a book so fierce, so poetic, so wise, so heartbreaking.” [HOWARD ZINN] “Tommy Trantino has given us the works - from A to TZZIT. He has put it all in one book replete with maniacal illustrations as a handbook to Eternity.” [HENRY MILLER] “I hear Trantino calling to the soul of the world, in his own language, by his own hand. Who can change the world? Just one person in one prison cell... a caller of the Great Call.” [ALLEN GINSBERG]< Less
The Captain By Seymour Shubin
Paperback: $17.48
Ships in 3-5 business days.
"The Captain slept fitfully, kept waking from dreams he couldn't remember. The one he finally woke from in the morning left him frightened, but he didn’t know why. He calmed down, however,... More > when he recalled that this wasn't unusual. Sometimes, maybe three times, this would happen in the morning after an execution. "Soon he was fine. The two of them were gone; he had helped make the world a little better again." Captain Hughes was once a legendary member of his local police department. But now - reduced by dementia and a family tired of him - he is left to spend his final days in a nursing home. Yet one thing still drives the Captain... the need for justice. "'The Captain' is a heart-breaking account of dementia but, as with all of Shubin's books, it's not just a great crime novel, it's a great novel." --- STEVE HUSSY (Introduction to 'The Captain')< Less
Steps By Steve Hussy
Paperback: $9.90
Ships in 3-5 business days.
“To read Steps is to experience the thrill and disgust of real human emotion, to see the absurdities at the heart of all relationships revealed under the spotlights glare.” --- TONY... More > O’NEILL (From the introduction to Steps) “Hussy treads the same broken path that Messrs Bukowski and Fante have walked before him... Yet, he has a distinct poetic voice, a voice made his own.” --- SUSAN TOMASELLI (Dogmatika) Steps’ narrator faces a career filled with empty-headed liberals, a boarding-house full of grotesques, a girlfriend who can’t stand kissing him and a brain that won’t let any of it rest. But maybe - maybe - there’s another lesson for a teacher to learn. Available exclusively in this limited edition chapbook and set before SK#1’s Tara and SK#3’s Wilson, Steps charts the origins of Hussy’s days as a college and university lecturer.< Less
Bank Blogger By Jeffrey Frye
Paperback: $15.20
Ships in 3-5 business days.
"Does my present world suck? Like a gaping chest wound. But it's all part of the ride. There's no sense in crying about it; nobody likes a whiny bank robber. If you like what you read, please... More > buy my books. If I get any poorer I'll be down eating sparrows with The Chinaman." [Jeffrey Frye, "Bank Blogger"] In 2012, Murder Slim Press received an unsolicited submission called "Prison Prose" from a notorious bank robber named Jeffrey Frye. What has followed is a long standing correspondance with Frye... and then MurderSlim.com's Bloggie-nominated Bank Robber's Blog. Bank Blogger is the first of numerous books that will collect stories unavailable on the Bank Robber's Blog, and provide you with the ultimate introduction to everyone's favourite felon. "Bank Blogger" is a limited edition chapbook of only 200 copies. You snooze, you lose. It's also packed with photos from Jeff's life inside and outside prison, and the various people that have an impact on his world.< Less
Why Me? By Seymour Shubin
Paperback: $13.06
Ships in 3-5 business days.
"It came one day, fully, by itself, without prodding, urging, even without thought: Does the river know the rower’s gone? Does the rower know the river is still here?" (Seymour... More > Shubin, 'Why Me?') In a writing career spanning over six decades, Seymour Shubin has focussed almost exclusively on fictional and crime stories. Whilst such crime classics as 'Anyone's My Name' and 'The Man From Yesterday' feature Shubin-like alter-egos, these forty poems mark his first truly autobiographical work. 'Why Me?' is by turns touching, funny and thought-provoking as Shubin looks back at his childhood in the Great Depression, the nature of loss and the shadow of death that looms over us all. Steve Hussy's introduction hails the book, highlighting that: "'Why Me?' communicates complex ideas with simplicity, honesty and skill. And, as a result, it's yet another form of writing that Seymour Shubin has mastered. What the hell will he do next?"< Less
Dirty Work By Mark SaFranko
Paperback: $21.69
Ships in 3-5 business days.
"Dirty Work" is the fourth of Mark SaFranko's series of Max Zajack novels and follows the critically acclaimed "Hating Olivia," "Lounge Lizard" and "God Bless... More > America." "Dirty Work" is the bridge between "God Bless America" and "Hating Olivia." Max has left school and is searching for a steady job that gives him enough sanity to survive...and enough free time to write. Drawing comparisons to both "Factotum" and "Death on the Installment Plan", the novel charts Max's struggles to make cash and become a great artist. As he writes: "How often does a man love what he’s doing? Once or twice in a lifetime if he’s lucky. For the artist it’s more complicated. He’s absorbed in himself, in his own inner machinery. The external world, the realm of dollars and cents, isn’t usually of much interest to him....I didn’t know what I was. But was I an artist? Where was the evidence? Right then and there I should have gotten up and walked out. But I didn’t. When I suffered, I tended to stay put and suffer more."< Less
One Crazy Day By Jeffrey Frye
Paperback: $13.49
Ships in 3-5 business days.
"She turned around and smiled and said, ‘I didn’t see you standing there. I'm sorry.’ I dropped my voice an octave to put some bass in it and said, ‘Not half as sorry as... More > you're getting ready to be because I need you to put your hands flat on the counter and not make any sudden movements...and I need you to remain calm and breathe. Do you understand what's going on here?’ "As I said this I arched my left eyebrow and gave her what I call, ‘The Bank Robber Big-Eye.’" After his arrest that followed a lengthy manhunt in 2009, Jeffrey Frye was termed a "serial bank robber" by authorities. He is now serving a 20 year prison sentence. 'One Crazy Day' takes us through a standard day in the life of your favourite felon, as he juggles his drug addiction, a money grabbing girlfriend and - of course - one of his seven bank robberies. 'One Crazy Day' is limited to 200 copies... grab your own slice of the Bank Blogger's life while you still can.< Less
Spiral Out By u.v. ray
Paperback: $16.20
Ships in 3-5 business days.
(1 Ratings)
“No one loves anyone else just for who they are. In the end we simply choose to acquaint ourselves with people who make us feel better in some way, someone who fills a void within us. We are... More > all trapped within the shell of ourselves. That’s how it is, and I don’t care if anyone else disagrees with me because that simply indicates that they are wrong and I am right. It’s all about voids. Voids in the universe. Voids within ourselves.” Mark Karzoso has spent his life distancing himself from humanity. Drugs, booze, cynicism and venom guide his world view. He’s become unashamedly selfish, misogynistic and hostile. But can anyone’s ego survive the wrong woman and a savage killing? u.v. ray's caustic novella "Spiral Out" explores the depths of humanity against a 1980s' British backdrop of crime, drugs and women. It will appeal to fans of Charles Bukowski, William Burroughs, Hubert Selby Jr. and Eddie Little.< Less