Search Results: 'Political humor'

Search

×
×
×
×
1,248 results for "Political humor"
Persian Perils By Barry Anderson
Paperback: $13.98
Prints in 3-5 business days
(2 Ratings)
An American’s personal accounts of events in 1978 and 1979 leading up to the Iranian revolution and the fall of the Shah of Iran. Chapters cover evacuation, sightseeing, food & culture and... More > the political chaos during this turbulent period in the Middle East and, specifically, Iran. From the tension at Mehrabad Airport during the desperate evacuation; to the smells and tastes of the kabobs, breads, fruits and desserts on the city streets; to the awe and majesty of Percepolis and Shriaz; to visits to the morgue and jails of Tehran; reading this book will make the reader feel like they are there. A copy of the death threat tacked on the author’s door brings home the tension and stress the American expatriates were experiencing. The book has many pictures taken by the author during his assignment in Tehran. Through the author’s experiences, some humorous and others frightening, the reader will develop a better understanding regarding the great divide between Iran and America that exists even today.< Less
Murder in the Sacristy By Daniel Lord
Paperback: List Price: $11.05 $7.74 | You Save: 30%
Prints in 3-5 business days
A sacristan is found murdered in the sacristy and the safe robbed of valuable jewels. All clues seem to point to the priest as the murderer. But is the priest the guilty party - or is it the... More > communist? - the nazi? - the Senator's wife? --- or someone else? This mystery novel, set in World War II Chicago, was written by Daniel A Lord, S.J., who was a priest and popular American Catholic writer. The subjects of the works in his bibliography range from religion, humor, plays, songs, mysteries and even politics. His most influential work was possibly in drafting the 1930 Production Code for motion pictures. (Introduction by Maria Therese) Eliza Quille and Maria Farmer have typed out this book based on the audio book read by Maria Therese for Librivox.org. The intention (of the former) is to make good Catholic reading easily accessible for easily affordable prices.< Less
Biographical Sketches of Cartoonists & Illustrators in the Swann Collection of the Library of Congress By Sara Duke
Paperback: $17.00
Prints in 3-5 business days
Inside this book are short biographical sketches about the many artists represented in the Library of Congress' Swann Collection compiled by Erwin Swann (1906-1973). In the early 1960s, Swann, a New... More > York advertising executive started collecting original cartoon drawings of artistic and humorous interest. Included in the collection are political prints and drawings, satires, caricatures, cartoon strips and panels, and periodical illustrations by more than 500 artists, most of whom are American. The 2,085 items range from 1780-1977, with the bulk falling between 1890-1970. The Collection includes 1,922 drawings, 124 prints, 14 paintings, 13 animation cels, 9 collages, 1 album, 1 photographic print, and 1 scrapbook. 2nd printing in 2017 deleted TE Coles and added the correct entry for CE Toles.< Less
Jellia Jamb, Maid of Oz By Dave Hardenbrook
Paperback: $18.92
Prints in 3-5 business days
Oz is a magical, wondrous world that extends far beyond the famous MGM film! This second "Oz" novel by Dave Hardenbrook centers around the adventures of Jellia Jamb, the sweet and... More > sprightly maid of the Emerald City. After miraculously acquiring magical powers after bathing in a mysterious pool of enchanted liquid candy, Jellia finds herself part of a complex web of Ozian politics, involving the long-standing prohibition against mortals like herself from practicing magic, and the ancient fairyland law that forbids romantic love in Oz, and she embarks on a wild adventure that carries her far -- even to a parallel universe! With a riveting plot, wry humor, offbeat science fiction elements, and some saucy sexiness, this is an "adult" Oz story that preserves L. Frank Baum's vision of a utopian fairyland. Experience Oz like never before! NOTE: This book is recommended for mature readers aged 16 and up.< Less
The Conscious Manager: Zen for Decision Makers By Fred Phillips
eBook (PDF): $11.25
You make decisions every day - for yourself, your family, your company, your clubs and charities, and on political issues. You want to make these decisions with integrity and good humor, using a... More > positive, consistent set of values. Decision making with less anxiety and fewer regrets: The Conscious Manager shows you how. The Conscious Manager is the first book to demonstrate how the Zen principle of non-attachment, when applied to everyday decisions, can: • make you happier, • make the people who work for you happier and more productive, • lead to a clearer understanding of thorny issues and difficult people, and • lead to better decisions. The Conscious Manager: Zen for Decision Makers explains the fourteen characteristics of a conscious manager and the six steps to a Zen path of responsible decision making, for non-practitioners of Zen and practitioners alike. It is a startling and powerful yet simple solution to the troubling issues that face us all when we must make decisions.< Less
Hillary Can Belly Dance Too: A Quest to Save Piazzas * By Homa Jahansouzi-Danesh
Paperback: List Price: $14.99 $11.99 | You Save: 20%
Prints in 3-5 business days
How does the modern city dehumanize people? That’s the question at the heart of this insightful and often humorous examination of cities throughout the world by architectural and urban... More > planner Homa Jahansouzi-Danesh. With protestors in developing countries all saying they are most afraid of losing “dignity,” and with cities robbing citizens of their heritage, it’s more important than ever to promote the development of cities that safeguard a region’s economic, social, and political structures. From New York City, London, Paris, Mexico City, and Tokyo—to Cairo, Beijing, Bangkok, Jakarta, Sao Paulo, Mumbai, Calcutta, Tehran, Shanghai, and other cities throughout the world, the author explores how to reverse the undesirable side effects of globalization. By looking to cities from ancient times to the present, it’s possible to sidestep bad choices and restore dignity to the people by promoting community cohesion while embracing tradition with the insights in Hillary Can Belly Dance Too.< Less
Hillary Can Belly Dance Too: A Quest to Save Piazzas * By Homa Jahansouzi-Danesh
eBook (ePub): $8.99
How does the modern city dehumanize people? That’s the question at the heart of this insightful and often humorous examination of cities throughout the world by architectural and urban planner... More > Homa Jahansouzi-Danesh. With protestors in developing countries all saying they are most afraid of losing “dignity,” and with cities robbing citizens of their heritage, it’s more important than ever to promote the development of cities that safeguard a region’s economic, social, and political structures. From New York City, London, Paris, Mexico City, and Tokyo—to Cairo, Beijing, Bangkok, Jakarta, Sao Paulo, Mumbai, Calcutta, Tehran, Shanghai, and other cities throughout the world, the author explores how to reverse the undesirable side effects of globalization. By looking to cities from ancient times to the present, it’s possible to sidestep bad choices and restore dignity to the people by promoting community cohesion while embracing tradition with the insights in Hillary Can Belly Dance Too.< Less
Kick It Till It Breaks By Ira Robbins
Paperback: $19.98
Prints in 3-5 business days
What do radicals, religion, race, riots, restaurants and Rufus Thomas all have in common? According to this provocative first novel by veteran music journalist Ira Robbins, they are all defining... More > elements of the 1960s. At times dishearteningly bleak, Kick It Till It Breaks is rich with offbeat characters vividly drawn against a tableau of antiwar violence. Unlike most stories of the time, the author — who nonetheless claims a high regard for its political and cultural achievements — is unsparing in his depiction of dedicated idealists failing to uphold their ideals. The author uses slang, dialect and timely pop culture touchstones to bring the Viet Nam era to life in such disparate locales as Memphis, London, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., San Francisco, Chicago and New York. Fans of Putney Swope, The Young Ones and A Confederacy of Dunces will likely recognize a harmony of tone and perspective with those darkly humorous works.< Less
A Gladness in the Eyes, A Novel By Grady Ross Daugherty
eBook (ePub): $2.25
This is a journey to a wondrous and hopefully-not-too-distant future. It is a love story, and more. It shows us a new and different United States through the eyes of Alan West, a... More > cryogenically-preserved time traveler. The advanced technology we encounter is stunning, but even more so is the transformation of economy, politics and culture. A Gladness… reaffirms our cooperative human nature. It inspires optimism at a time when our species is threatened in so many ways. It answers two enormously important questions: Why have socialist experiments failed thus far in many countries? And, why has the transition to a socialist republic in the U.S. been so problematic? Among the book’s provocative elements, it is established that there is absolutely no contradiction between spiritual faith and authentic, workable socialism. Embark on a sometimes humorous, sometimes shocking literary adventure—buckle your seat belt. It will be quite a ride!< Less
Heavy Traffic on a Dirt Road By Alex Fogel
Paperback: $19.50
Prints in 3-5 business days
Few people would suspect that mild-mannered Sean “Recon” Wallace was one of the most powerful men in the country – financially, politically, and physically. Content to spend his... More > time alone in the wilderness of Southwest Georgia, the former Force Recon Marine never expected to stumble upon the scene where three men were preparing to make a pornographic snuff film. Rescuing the woman from the filmmakers was only the beginning, however. Informed that there was a shipment of captured young girls about to be sold into prostitution, and that someone in his own company is involved in the human trafficking conspiracy, Sean teams with a beautiful Australian heiress to save the girls, restore his corporate legacy, and prove that power deferred is not power lost. Adventure, mystery, romance and humor – the trademarks of a novel by Alex Fogel, are once again in abundant supply throughout “Heavy Traffic on a Dirt Road”.< Less

Top 10

see more >
 
1
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
6
Our World Our World By Deleah Payne
Paperback: $21.60