Search Results: 'Roman archaeology'

Search

×
×
×
×
75 results for "Roman archaeology"
The Archaeology of Roman Surveillance In the Central Alentejo, Portugal By Joey Williams
eBook (ePub): $14.95
During the first century B.C.E. a complex system of surveillance towers was established during Rome’s colonization of the central Alentejo region of Portugal. These towers provided visual... More > control over the landscape, routes through it, and hidden or isolated places as part of the Roman colonization of the region. As part of an archaeological analysis of the changing landscape of Alentejo, Joey Williams offers here a theory of surveillance in Roman colonial encounters drawn from a catalog of watchtowers in the Alentejo, the artifacts and architecture from the tower known as Caladinho, and the geographic information systems analysis of each tower’s vision. Through the consideration of these and other pieces of evidence, Williams places surveillance at the center of the colonial negotiation over territory, resources, and power in the westernmost province of the Roman Empire.< Less
The Archaeology of Roman Surveillance in the Central Alentejo, Portugal By Joey Williams
Paperback: $29.95
Prints in 3-5 business days
During the first century B.C.E. a complex system of surveillance towers was established during Rome’s colonization of the central Alentejo region of Portugal. These towers provided visual... More > control over the landscape, routes through it, and hidden or isolated places as part of the Roman colonization of the region. As part of an archaeological analysis of the changing landscape of Alentejo, Joey Williams offers here a theory of surveillance in Roman colonial encounters drawn from a catalog of watchtowers in the Alentejo, the artifacts and architecture from the tower known as Caladinho, and the geographic information systems analysis of each tower’s vision. Through the consideration of these and other pieces of evidence, Williams places surveillance at the center of the colonial negotiation over territory, resources, and power in the westernmost province of the Roman Empire.< Less
Roman Ice By Dave Bartell
Paperback: List Price: $19.56 $13.69 | You Save: 30%
Prints in 3-5 business days
His rich discovery will make history… if someone doesn’t steal it first. Darwin Lacroix wants to rewrite the story of the past. The archaeologist knows that a $10 million discovery of... More > diamonds in Iceland is just a fraction of Emperor Nero’s fortune. He’s read the ancient scrolls buried beneath Mt. Vesuvius, and he’s about to prove that Nero lined the lava tubes with impossible amounts of gold. But when a powerful cartel seizes control of the hunt, Darwin’s quest becomes a race against time to reveal the mother lode first. With a volcanologist and an unsavory diamond expert on board, the academic’s search for riches meets lethal obstacles at every turn. Deep underground, the choices Darwin makes could determine who in his party makes it out alive. Roman Ice is a thrilling suspense novel in the tradition of Sahara, The Lost World, and Treasure Island. If you like alternate history, archaeological adventures, and complex characters, then you’ll love Dave Bartell’s action-packed tale. Buy it today!< Less
GREEK, ETRUSCAN AND ROMAN BRONZES By GISELA RICHTER
Paperback: $24.99
Prints in 3-5 business days
A catalogue of the bronze objects held in the Greek and Roman Collection at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.
Roman Roads in Britain By Thomas Codrington
Paperback: $19.96
Prints in 3-5 business days
Roman Roads in Britain, by Thomas Codrington: published in 1903, this authoritative classic is now republished by Celtica Publishing. Not only does it provide an enormous amount of information about... More > its specific topic, but it offers many insights into the basic tools and methods available to the student of Roman roads. For example, the introduction includes a general discussion of study methodology and of road construction techniques, plus the 15 British itinera of the Antonine Itinerary.< Less
The Oriental Religions in Roman Paganism By Franz Valery Marie Cumont
Paperback: List Price: $10.08 $6.05 | You Save: 40%
Prints in 3-5 business days
Hint: You can preview this book by clicking on "Preview" which is located under the cover of this book. About the author: Franz-Valéry-Marie Cumont (3 January 1868 in Aalst,... More > Belgium – 20 August 1947 in Woluwe-Saint-Pierre near Brussels) was a Belgian archaeologist and historian, a philologist and student of epigraphy, who brought these often isolated specialties to bear on the syncretic mystery religions of Late Antiquity, notably Mithraism. Cumont was a graduate of the University of Ghent (PhD, 1887). After receiving royal travelling fellowships, he undertook archaeology in Pontus and Armenia (published in 1906) and in Syria, but he is best known for his studies on the impact of Eastern mystery religions, particularly Mithraism, on the Roman Empire. Cumont's international credentials were brilliant, but his public circumspection was not enough. Excerpt from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franz_Cumont< Less
St. Paul the Traveler and the Roman Citizen By William Mitchell Ramsay
eBook (ePub): $2.95
(1 Ratings)
St. Paul: The Traveler And Roman Citizen was written by New Testament scholar, Sir William Mitchell Ramsay (15 March 1851 - 20 April 1939). He was also the first professor of classical art and... More > archaeology at Oxford University. He regarded the weakest spot in the whole New Testament to be the story of Paul's travels. Equipped as no other man had been, he went to the home of the Bible where he spent fifteen years digging. Ramsay was struck by the accuracy of the book of Acts. In his quest to refute the Bible, he discovered many facts which confirmed its accuracy. Ramsay’s account of his investigation is a breathtaking guide and history of Christianity’s premier missionary and apostolic father St. Paul, both before and after his conversion in Palestine.< Less
Greek, Roman and Byzantine Pottery at Ilion (Troia) By Sebastian Heath & Billur Tekkök
Paperback: $28.70
Prints in 3-5 business days
This is the bound version of the digital publication of pottery from Ilion also available at http://classics.uc.edu/troy/grbpottery/ . That site is updated regularly, whereas this version is only... More > updated occasionally and is already out of date. It's likely then that there is no need to buy this book. One reason to purchase it is to test the utility of Lulu's print-on-demand service for the publication of archaeological data.< Less
Greek, Roman and Byzantine Pottery at Ilion (Troia) By Sebastian Heath & Billur Tekkök
eBook (PDF): $0.00
This is the bound version of the digital publication of pottery from Ilion also available at http://classics.uc.edu/troy/grbpottery/ . That site is updated regularly, whereas this version is only... More > updated occasionally and is already out of date. It's likely then that there is no need to buy this book. One reason to purchase it is to test the utility of Lulu's print-on-demand service for the publication of archaeological data.< Less
Warda Roman uit het oude Egypte [Dutch] By Georg Ebers
Paperback: List Price: $14.37 $10.06 | You Save: 30%
Prints in 3-5 business days
Hint: You can preview this book by clicking on "Preview" which is located under the cover of this book. About the author: Georg Moritz Ebers (Berlin, March 1, 1837 – Tutzing,... More > Bavaria, August 7, 1898), German Egyptologist and novelist, discovered the Egyptian medical papyrus, of ca. 1550 BCE, named for him (see Ebers Papyrus) at Luxor (Thebes) in the winter of 1873–74. Now in the Library of the University of Leipzig, the Ebers Papyrus is among the most important ancient Egyptian medical papyri. It is one of two of the oldest preserved medical documents anywhere—the other being the Edwin Smith Papyrus (ca. 1600 BCE).At Göttingen he studied jurisprudence, and at Berlin Oriental languages and archaeology. Having made a special study of Egyptology, he became in 1865 Dozent in Egyptian language and antiquities at Jena, becoming professor in 1868. In 1870 he was appointed professor in these subjects at Leipzig. Excerpt from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georg_Ebers< Less

Top 10

see more >
 
 
 
4
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
10