Search Results: 'curiosity'

Search

×
×
×
×
1,770 results for "curiosity"
Curiosity Killed the Cat By Chanelle Huffman
eBook (PDF): $0.00
No description supplied
The Old Curiosity Shop By Charles Dickens
Paperback: List Price: $14.90 $10.43 | You Save: 30%
Prints in 3-5 business days
The Old Curiosity Shop is a novel by Charles Dickens. The plot follows the life of Nell Trent and her grandfather, both residents of The Old Curiosity Shop in London.The Old Curiosity Shop was one of... More > two novels (the other being Barnaby Rudge) which Dickens published along with short stories in his weekly serial Master Humphrey's Clock, which lasted from 1840 to 1841. It was so popular that New York readers stormed the wharf when the ship bearing the final instalment arrived in 1841. The Old Curiosity Shop was printed in book form in 1841.Queen Victoria read the novel in 1841, finding it "very interesting and cleverly written. "The Old Curiosity Shop tells the story of Nell Trent, a beautiful and virtuous young girl of "not quite fourteen". Excerpt from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Old_Curiosity_Shop Hint: You can preview this book by clicking on "Preview" which is located under the cover of this book.< Less
Anomalies and Curiosities of Medicine (Illustrated) By George M. Gould, Walter L. Pyle
eBook (ePub): $1.99
“Since the time when man's mind first busied itself with subjects beyond his own self-preservation and the satisfaction of his bodily appetites, the anomalous and curious have been of... More > exceptional and persistent fascination to him; and especially is this true of the construction and functions of the human body. Possibly, indeed, it was the anomalous that was largely instrumental in arousing in the savage the attention, thought, and investigation that were finally to develop into the body of organized truth which we now call Science. As by the aid of collected experience and careful inference we to-day endeavor to pass our vision into the dim twilight whence has emerged our civilization, we find abundant hint and even evidence of this truth. To the highest type of philosophic minds it is the usual and the ordinary that demand investigation and explanation.”< Less
The Old Curiosity Shop By Charles Dickens
eBook (ePub): $2.99
The emotional tale of Little Nell and her doting grandfather was an immediate popular success in 1840-41. Played out against the backdrop of a cold and brutal London, the twosome abandon their home... More > to escape debt and roam the countryside as beggars. Relentlessly pursued by a malicious moneylender and encountering ne'er-do-wells, con artists, and the persevering poor, they also find goodness and generosity, love and loyalty. Dickens' proficiency in creating richly diverse characters are evident in this tale that brims with pathos and villainy. This edition contains an extensive overview of both Charles Dickens and the novel.< Less
Zelda's Absurd Curiosities - Animals By Zelda Halopile
Paperback: $20.01
Prints in 3-5 business days
(1 Ratings)
A book of witty, funny, absurd, rhymes about strange and unusual animals creations that have been magically made by the mysterious Zelda Halopile. This brightly coloured book, featuring amazing... More > illustrations from Zelda's imp friend, Tumulu, will amuse both children and adults. For fans of Doctor Seuss, Roald Dahl and Edward Lear, oh and Zelda Halopile.< Less
Curiosity Killed the Kat By Paige Ryan
Paperback: $16.00
Prints in 3-5 business days
Curiosity Killed the Kat by Paige Ryan Published by A Novel Idea, 2016
The Cabinet of Curiosities Study Guide By BookRags.com
eBook (ePub): $9.99
The Cabinet of Curiosities Study Guide contains a comprehensive summary and analysis of The Cabinet of Curiosities by Douglas Preston. It includes a detailed Plot Summary, Chapter Summaries &... More > Analysis, Character Descriptions, Objects/Places, Themes, Styles, Quotes, and Topics for Discussion on The Cabinet of Curiosities.< Less
Age Verification Required
The Old Curiosity Shop By Charles Dickens
eBook (ePub): $1.38
The Old Curiosity Shop follows the life of Nell Trent and her grandfather, both residents of The Old Curiosity Shop in London. The Old Curiosity Shop was one of two novels (the other being Barnaby... More > Rudge) which Dickens published along with short stories in his weekly serial Master Humphrey's Clock, which lasted from 1840 to 1841. It was so popular that New York readers stormed the wharf when the ship bearing the final instalment arrived in 1841, shouting to arriving sailors (who might have already read the final chapters in the United Kingdom), ‘Is Little Nell alive?’< Less
Age Verification Required