Search Results: 'lord jim'

Search

×
×
×
×
45 results for "lord jim"
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $1.25
Download immediately.
The novel that was later made into a film starring Peter O'Toole. This is a classic tale of lost opportunity and regret. Jim, a British seaman abandons his ship, along with the rest of the crew, when... More > it begins to take on water and disaster appears imminent. He is held up in public as a figure of disgust and loses his ranking following a court of inquiry. His disgust at his own actions, however, leads him to seek redemption in a way no one would contemplate.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $2.99
Download immediately.
Jim is a young, good-looking, genial, and naive water-clerk on the Patna, a cargo ship plying Asian waters. He is, we are told, 'the kind of fellow you would, on the strength of his looks, leave in... More > charge of the deck'. He also harbours romantic fantasies of adventure and heroism - which are promptly scuttled one night when the ship collides with an obstacle and begins to sink. Acting on impulse, Jim jumps overboard and lands in a lifeboat, which happens to be bearing the unscrupulous captain and his cohorts away from the disaster. The Patna, however, manages to stay afloat. The foundering vessel is towed into port - and since the officers have strategically vanished, Jim is left to stand trial for abandoning the ship and its 800 passengers. This edition contains extensive overviews of both the author and the novel.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $3.99
Download immediately.
Lord Jim is a novel by Joseph Conrad originally published as a serial in Blackwood's Magazine from October 1899 to November 1900. An early and primary event is the abandonment of a ship in distress... More > by its crew including the young British seaman Jim. He is publicly censured for this action and the novel follows his later attempts at coming to terms with his past. Jim (his surname is never disclosed), a young British seaman, becomes first mate on the Patna, a ship full of pilgrims travelling to Mecca for the hajj. When the ship starts rapidly taking on water and disaster seems imminent, Jim joins his captain and other crew members in abandoning the ship and its passengers. A few days later, they are picked up by a British ship. However, the Patna and its passengers are later also saved, and the reprehensible actions of the crew are exposed. In 1998, the Modern Library ranked Lord Jim #85 on its list of the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $3.99
Download immediately.
An ambiguous story many consider to be Conrad's best work, it is a story of remorse and of the effort to regain self-respect for a deed of fatal and unexpected cowardice. The sea and secluded Eastern... More > settlements are the background.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $1.99
Download immediately.
(14 Ratings)
Lord Jim is a novel by Joseph Conrad. An early and primary event is the abandonment of a ship in distress by its crew including the young British seaman Jim. He is publicly censured for this action... More > and the novel follows his later attempts at coming to terms with his past. Jim, a young British seaman, becomes first mate on the Patna, a ship full of pilgrims travelling to Mecca for the hajj. Jim joins his captain and other crew members in abandoning the ship and its passengers. A few days later, they are picked up by a British ship. However, the Patna and its passengers are later also saved, and the reprehensible actions of the crew are exposed. The court strips him of his navigation command certificate for his dereliction of duty. Jim is angry with himself, both for his moment of weakness, and for missing an opportunity to be a 'hero'. In 1998, the Modern Library ranked Lord Jim #85 on its list of the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $3.03
Download immediately.
A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young “simple and sensitive character” who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea — and of his... More > expiation of that sin against his own “shadowy ideal of conduct” on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, “the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought ‘art novel’ in the tradition of Flaubert and James.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $1.00
Download immediately.
Lord Jim is a novel by Joseph Conrad originally published as a serial in Blackwood's Magazine from October 1899 to November 1900. An early and primary event is Jim's abandonment of a ship in... More > distress on which he is serving as a mate. He is publicly censured for this action and the novel follows his later attempts at coming to terms with his past.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
Hardcover: $34.00
Ships in 6-8 business days.
Jim (his surname is never disclosed), a young British seaman, becomes first mate on the Patna, a ship full of pilgrims traveling to Mecca for the hajj. Jim joins his captain and other crew members in... More > abandoning the ship and its passengers. A few days later, they are picked up by a British ship. However, the Patna and its passengers are later also saved, and the reprehensible actions of the crew are exposed. The other participants evade the judicial court of inquiry, leaving Jim to the court alone. The court strips him of his navigation command certificate for his dereliction of duty. Jim is angry with himself, both for his moment of weakness, and for missing an opportunity to be a 'hero'.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $2.45
Download immediately.
Jim takes up a career as a young officer in the merchant marine, after a course of 'light holiday literature', believing he is destined to shine heroically. He begins to live in a world of his own... More > delusions as to his abilities and bravery. He is tested and fails, abandoning the Patna on which he is first mate along with the rest of the disreputable crew, leaving the hundreds of Muslim pilgrims on board to their almost certain fate. The ship does not sink and is rescued and Jim later faces complete shame and the loss of his license and rank.< Less
Lord Jim: First Edition By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $3.99
Download immediately.
Lord Jim is a novel by Joseph Conrad originally published as a serial in Blackwood's Magazine from October 1899 to November 1900. An early and primary event is the abandonment of a ship in distress... More > by its crew including the young British seaman Jim. He is publicly censured for this action and the novel follows his later attempts at coming to terms with his past. In 1998, the Modern Library ranked Lord Jim #85 on its list of the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century.< Less