Search Results: 'lord jim'

Search

×
×
×
×
38 results for "lord jim"
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $1.25
Download immediately.
The novel that was later made into a film starring Peter O'Toole. This is a classic tale of lost opportunity and regret. Jim, a British seaman abandons his ship, along with the rest of the crew, when... More > it begins to take on water and disaster appears imminent. He is held up in public as a figure of disgust and loses his ranking following a court of inquiry. His disgust at his own actions, however, leads him to seek redemption in a way no one would contemplate.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $2.99
Download immediately.
Jim is a young, good-looking, genial, and naive water-clerk on the Patna, a cargo ship plying Asian waters. He is, we are told, 'the kind of fellow you would, on the strength of his looks, leave in... More > charge of the deck'. He also harbours romantic fantasies of adventure and heroism - which are promptly scuttled one night when the ship collides with an obstacle and begins to sink. Acting on impulse, Jim jumps overboard and lands in a lifeboat, which happens to be bearing the unscrupulous captain and his cohorts away from the disaster. The Patna, however, manages to stay afloat. The foundering vessel is towed into port - and since the officers have strategically vanished, Jim is left to stand trial for abandoning the ship and its 800 passengers. This edition contains extensive overviews of both the author and the novel.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $3.03
Download immediately.
A classic of early literary modernism, Lord Jim tells the story of a young “simple and sensitive character” who loses his honor in a display of cowardice at sea — and of his... More > expiation of that sin against his own “shadowy ideal of conduct” on the remote island of Patusan. The novel, written by Conrad for magazine serialization during an intense and chaotic ten months in 1899 and 1900, has, in the words of Thomas C. Moser, “the rare distinction of being a masterpiece in two separate genres. It is at once an exotic adventure story of the Eastern seas in the popular tradition of Kipling and Stevenson and a complexly wrought ‘art novel’ in the tradition of Flaubert and James.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $1.00
Download immediately.
Lord Jim is a novel by Joseph Conrad originally published as a serial in Blackwood's Magazine from October 1899 to November 1900. An early and primary event is Jim's abandonment of a ship in... More > distress on which he is serving as a mate. He is publicly censured for this action and the novel follows his later attempts at coming to terms with his past.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
Hardcover: $34.00
Ships in 6-8 business days.
Jim (his surname is never disclosed), a young British seaman, becomes first mate on the Patna, a ship full of pilgrims traveling to Mecca for the hajj. Jim joins his captain and other crew members in... More > abandoning the ship and its passengers. A few days later, they are picked up by a British ship. However, the Patna and its passengers are later also saved, and the reprehensible actions of the crew are exposed. The other participants evade the judicial court of inquiry, leaving Jim to the court alone. The court strips him of his navigation command certificate for his dereliction of duty. Jim is angry with himself, both for his moment of weakness, and for missing an opportunity to be a 'hero'.< Less
Lord Jim By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $2.45
Download immediately.
Jim takes up a career as a young officer in the merchant marine, after a course of 'light holiday literature', believing he is destined to shine heroically. He begins to live in a world of his own... More > delusions as to his abilities and bravery. He is tested and fails, abandoning the Patna on which he is first mate along with the rest of the disreputable crew, leaving the hundreds of Muslim pilgrims on board to their almost certain fate. The ship does not sink and is rescued and Jim later faces complete shame and the loss of his license and rank.< Less
Joseph Conrad Collection: Heart of Darkness, The Secret Agent, Lord Jim, Nostromo By Joseph Conrad
eBook (ePub): $2.99
Download immediately.
Conrad is regarded as one of the greatest novelists in English, though he did not speak the language fluently until he was in his twenties (and then always with a marked Polish accent). He wrote... More > stories and novels, predominantly with a nautical or seaboard setting, that depict trials of the human spirit by the demands of duty and honour. Conrad was a master prose stylist who brought a distinctly non-English tragic sensibility into English literature. While some of his works have a strain of romanticism, he is viewed as a precursor of modernist literature. His narrative style and anti-heroic characters have influenced many authors.< Less
The Jim Morrison Myth By Allyn de Lev
eBook (PDF): $5.00
Download immediately.
Originally entitled "Lord Jim: Mythos of a Rock Icon," The Jim Morrison Myth carefully goes through the Morrison corpus with an eye to explaining how and why Morrison became the mythic... More > figure that he has. Looking at the Morrison story in just this way has never been done before, and through this lens we discover things about Morrison that have been largely overlooked and neglected. Chapters include "The Rock Star as World Savior," "Jim Morrison's Oedipal Complex," and two very interesting appendices: "The LA Woman Phenomenon" and "The Gospel According to James Douglas Morrison." Those who are interested in myth, religion, spirituality, as well as those just interested in Morrison and the Doors, will find this book fascinating, and well worth the admission price. Allyn de Lev is a freelance writer and musician who writes regularly on rock, mythology, and spirituality. He holds a B.A. in Philosophy and a M.A. in Religious Studies from the University of Pennsylvania.< Less
Lord Rings, Bourne Hercules and Xena, Totally Recall I Robot Die Hard By Jim Fenn
Paperback: List Price: $9.99 $5.00 You Save: 50%
Ships in 3-5 business days
Hilarious parodies of Lord of the Rings, the Bourne trilogy, Hercules: The Legendary Journeys, Xena: Warrior Princess, Total Recall, I, Robot, and the Die Hard trilogy. Or as I call them, Load of the... More > Rings, Harpocrates, Xenon, Porn Born, starring Chasten Porn (nothing naughty, just a name), Totally Reek, Y'all, Diet Hard, and My Robot. Here's a sample of that, 'Will Smith plays Dull Snooper, a young cop who loves robots so much he even cut off his own arm just so he could have a robot arm put on.' Perhaps I missed the spirit of the piece. Meet Booboo Baggies, Skipper the Ranger, Harpo and Yo Lass, Xenon and Gabby Well, Xenon's daughter, Pinto. Speaking of names, a spy needs inconspicuous names on his fake ID's such as Dildo Pimpernel of Saskatoon, Jar Jar Binks of Katmandu, and Troma Kinky, of Kubla Khan.< Less
Lords and New Creatures Study Guide By BookRags.com
eBook (ePub): $9.99
Download immediately.
The Lords and New Creatures Study Guide contains a comprehensive summary and analysis of Lords and New Creatures by Jim Morrison. It includes a detailed Plot Summary, Chapter Summaries &... More > Analysis, Character Descriptions, Objects/Places, Themes, Styles, Quotes, and Topics for Discussion on Lords and New Creatures.< Less