Search Results: 'woman sleuth'

Search

×
×
×
×
55 results for "woman sleuth"
The Woman in White By Wilkie Collins
eBook (ePub): $1.49
Download immediately.
Walter Hartright, a young art teacher, is walking from Hampstead to London. On this he meets a mysterious woman dressed in white, apparently in deep distress. He helps her on her way to London but... More > later learns that she has escaped from an asylum. The next day he travels north to Limmeridge House, on a commission of being drawing master to residents of the house, previously gained by his devoted friend, an Italian language professor named Pesca. The household comprises Mr Frederick Fairlie, and Walter's students: Laura Fairlie, Mr Fairlie's niece, and Marian Halcombe, her devoted half-sister. Hartright finds that Laura bears an astonishing resemblance to the woman in white, called Anne Catherick. The mentally disadvantaged Anne had lived for a time in Cumberland as a child and was devoted to Laura's mother, who first dressed her in white.< Less
The Woman in White By Wilkie Collins
Hardcover: $53.00
Ships in 6-8 business days.
Walter Hartright, a young art teacher, is walking from Hampstead to London. On this he meets a mysterious woman dressed in white, apparently in deep distress. He helps her on her way to London but... More > later learns that she has escaped from an asylum. The next day he travels north to Limmeridge House, on a commission of being drawing master to residents of the house, previously gained by his devoted friend, an Italian language professor named Pesca. The household comprises Mr Frederick Fairlie, and Walter's students: Laura Fairlie, Mr Fairlie's niece, and Marian Halcombe, her devoted half-sister. Hartright finds that Laura bears an astonishing resemblance to the woman in white, called Anne Catherick. The mentally disadvantaged Anne had lived for a time in Cumberland as a child and was devoted to Laura's mother, who first dressed her in white.< Less
The Woman in White By Wilkie Collins
eBook (ePub): $3.99
Download immediately.
The Woman in White is an epistolary novel written by Wilkie Collins in 1859, serialized in 1859–1860, and first published in book form in 1860. It is considered to be among the first mystery... More > novels and is widely regarded as one of the first (and finest) in the genre of 'sensation novels'. The story is considered an early example of detective fiction with the hero, Walter Hartright, employing many of the sleuthing techniques of later private detectives. The use of multiple narratives draws on Collins's legal training and as he points out in his Preamble: 'the story here presented will be told by more than one pen, as the story of an offence against the laws is told in Court by more than one witness'.< Less
The Woman in White By Wilkie Collins
eBook (ePub): $5.00
Download immediately.
The Woman in White is Wilkie Collins' fifth published novel, written in 1859. It is considered to be among the first mystery novels and is widely regarded as one of the first (and finest) in the... More > genre of "sensation novels". The story is sometimes considered an early example of detective fiction with the hero, Walter Hartright, employing many of the sleuthing techniques of later private detectives. The use of multiple narrators draws on Collins's legal training, and as he points out in his Preamble: "the story here presented will be told by more than one pen, as the story of an offence against the laws is told in Court by more than one witness". In 2003, Robert McCrum writing for The Observer listed The Woman in White number 23 in "the top 100 greatest novels of all time", and the novel was listed at number 77 on the BBC's survey The Big Read.< Less
Trent Last Case: The Woman In Black By Edmund Clerihew Bentley
eBook (ePub): $3.99
Download immediately.
Trent Last Case: The Woman In Black is a detective novel written by Edmund Clerihew Bentley and first published in 1913. Its central character reappeared subsequently in the novel Trent's Own Case... More > (1936) and the short-story collection Trent Intervenes (1938). Trent's Last Case is actually the first novel in which gentleman sleuth Philip Trent appears. The novel is a whodunit with a place in detective fiction history because it is the first major sendup of that genre: Not only does Trent fall in love with one of the primary suspects—usually considered a no-no—he also, after painstakingly collecting all the evidence, draws all the wrong conclusions. Convinced that he has tracked down the murderer of a business tycoon who was shot in his mansion, he is told by the real perpetrator over dinner what mistakes in logical deduction he has made in trying to solve the case. On hearing what really happened, Trent vows that he will never again attempt to dabble in crime detection.< Less
The Last Day of School By Bridget A. B. Halfaker
Paperback: List Price: $14.88 $8.93 | You Save: 40%
Ships in 3-5 business days
Beatrice LaCroix was just a young special education teacher before her principal was brutally murdered behind locked doors. In “The Last Day of School” Bea’s good friend is accused... More > of the murder and Bea must turn detective in order to clear his name. She teams up with two friends, a cop and a fellow teacher, to interview staff members, follow people incognito, and wade through the physical evidence that is discovered. Her science-driven brother joins in the search for the true killer, lending his lab and high tech equipment to the home-grown detectives.< Less
The Birthday Party By Bridget A. B. Halfaker
Paperback: List Price: $14.42 $8.65 | You Save: 40%
Ships in 3-5 business days
Beatrice LaCroix is back in a thrilling sequel of conspiracy and intrigue. In her latest adventure "The Birthday Party" Bea celebrates the day of her birth with a voyage across the waters... More > to a foreign land: Canada. Along the way she encounters several unique characters including the son of cricus performers and a music sensation who is popular in the music scene of the Middle East. With the inimitable new friends comes mayhem as one of the party falls victim to a homicide. Parker and Kacie aid Bea once more in solving the crime, using crime scene techniques from the past in lieu of an actual crime lab.< Less
Sin of the father By Kelly McMichael
eBook (ePub): $2.99
Download immediately.
The bones of a young black woman are found buried in John Rodriguez’s back yard during the middle of his run for the Democratic nominee for the Presidency. In an effort to put off the press and... More > save his political bid, he turns to historian Elizabeth Ryan for help. Ryan becomes caught up in a family’s secrets as she tries to discover who this woman was and why she was murdered. Long-held racial and gender hatred ignites as Ryan grapples with a past that begins to haunt her future. Can she untangle the mystery in time to save her life, as well as Rodriguez’s political career? This mystery will appeal to fans of Elizabeth George, Deborah Crombie, and P.D. James.< Less
Murder Among The Orchids By Karen Robbins
Paperback: List Price: $11.95 $10.76 | You Save: 10%
Ships in 3-5 business days
Among his beloved orchids, Mr. Popelmayer lay as if he'd gone down swinging. Casey and her detective friend, Max, discover more than one bizarre and exotic turn to the mystery of Mr. Pop's death. Did... More > his daughter, Cattelya, or his son, Garo, want an early inheritance? Or perhaps his first wife has had her revenge. The answer lies in the Costa Rican Forest of Orchids.< Less
Sugar And Spice And Not So Nice By Janet McNulty
Paperback: $15.00
Ships in 3-5 business days
Mellow Summers just wanted to go to college and get her film degree. She moved into a furnished apartment with her friend Jackie only to find that it already had a tenant: the ghost of a girl who was... More > murdered a year earlier. Now it is up to Mellow to not only discover who the murderer is, but to prove it as well. With the help of the ghost Rachel, Mellow sets out to solve the year old mystery. She soon finds out that she may have taken on more than she can handle. Pursued by someone who wants the identity of the killer to remain a secret, Mellow will have to use all her resources to outwit him and help the spirit of Rachel move on.< Less