Shop

Memories of the Future - Volume 1

eBook (PDF), 138 Pages
(36 Ratings)
Price: $10.00
Download immediately.
From Encounter at Farpoint to Datalore, relive the first half of Star Trek: The Next Generation’s unintentionally hilarious first season through the eyes, ears and memories of cast member and fan Wil Wheaton (Wesley Crusher) as he shares his unique perspective in the episode guide you didn’t even know you were dying to read. ENJOY snarky episode recaps! EXPAND your Technobabble vocabulary! AMUSE your friends with quotable dialog! BOLDLY go behind the scenes!
Available in PDF Format

Ratings & Reviews

Log in to review this item
Lulu Sales Rank: 13066
18 People Reviewed This Product
Show: Recent
  • By stephenpatrickjohnston
    Nov 1, 2009
    I enjoyed the column so much, I bought the book. This is the perfect companion read for an indulgent re-watch of Next Generation's painful but hugely ambitious first season, itself an only partly-successful project that nevertheless revived the whole notion of SF on TV, not just Star Trek itself. Wil Wheaton's perspective is fascinating, his observations both generous and hilarious. The language is sometimes a bit crude for my taste, but the writing itself is always sharp and often highly evocative of a very specific time for both the author and the show. Being the same age as Wil, I was no fan of Wesley Crusher when Next Generation started (although nor was I a contributor to alt.wesley.crusher.die.die.die), but by the time Menage a Troi aired I'd warmed to him considerably. Had I had this book in my library during the first season of TNG, that thaw might have set in a lot earlier. This marked my first purchase of Lulu and print-to-order in general, and I'm impressed - printed and... More > shipped to me within a week, good quality paper and binding, and relatively few typos. I'll certainly use the service again. Unreservedly recommended for anyone interested in Star Trek's return to TV, or anyone who enjoys Wil Wheaton's autobiographical outings.< Less
  • By Kathy Ward
    Oct 31, 2009
    Simply too many hilarious pop-culture+TNG moments to count, making for a great read. Can't wait for Volume 2! (Go for the podcasts too, for extra goodies!)
  • By amkardel
    Oct 28, 2009
    I bought this book expecting to enjoy it based on Wil Wheaton's blog which is always a fun read. I didn't expect to find the 14-year-old version of him writing this book in his stead. I laughed once or twice when the adult Wil slipped in, but all in all I was disappointed.
  • By thebadastronomer
    Oct 26, 2009
    Simply put, this is Wil at his best. He is funny, snarky, warm, and thoughtful in these reviews and memories of TNG. And I'm not just saying that because he let me write three paragraphs for it or that I have a not-so-secret mancrush on him. This book really is a joy for fans of TNG; I laughed a lot at things I barely remembered from watching the show when it came out, and laughed even harder from the scenes I remember all too well. His "Behind the Scenes Memories" section are just wonderful, too. If you're a fan of Wil's you'll probably buy this anyway, but if you're a TNG fan then this is a must have. [Insert lame "Make it so" joke here.]
  • By postal333
    Oct 24, 2009
    This book reminds me of the finest episodes of Mystery Science Theater 3000. Mr. Wheaton gives some hilarious and some thoughtful insights on his former series. I can't help but be amazed by the cultural references I get but I'm sure alot of his readers may be too young to do so (such as Captain Q's Kangaroo court and the ping pong avalanche...). I am not a fan of "Next Generation" and the few esisodes I did see made a little anti-Wesley, but I'm a fan of Mr. Wheaton and his writing style. Reading his work is like listening to a good friend tell you his favorite stories, full of heart and snark. Believe me, even non-trekkies/trekkers will enjoy this book. Can't wait for the rest of the set!
  • By Roxanne Terrell
    Oct 19, 2009
    I loved reading this humemoir (humor + memoir? did I fail my neologism roll?). Wil Wheaton is one of the genuinely best writers I've come across, and he has really hit it out of the park on this book. This is one of the very few non-fiction books I have laughed along with. I would recommend this for anyone from a hard-core Trekkie to plain ol' geeks and the casual sci-fi watcher.
  • By danrk-001
    Oct 18, 2009
    AWESOME! AWESOME! IT IS THE BEST AND I HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME READING IT. I GOT THE BOOK YESTERDAY AND READ IT ALL. I was laughing so hard I had to stop for a pee break or two but it was great. Not to spoil anything but I loved the Gordi LaChance meets Wesley Crusher moment, EPIC! Anyway, I look forward to reading Volume 2. Also, did I mention it was AWESOME! Wil, your the best!
  • By Susan Mohn
    Oct 13, 2009
    While I can't yet rate this because I've not yet read it, if his twitter feed (@wilw) or his website (http://is.gd/ihF4) are even the smallest indication of his writing style, this book will be abso-frackin-lutely hilarious. Will writes with a charm and wit just not seen often enough these days. He's a thoughtful writer with a great sense of humor and the TNG reviews of his that I've read are wonderfully done. I'm buying this today - you all should too :>
Refreshing...
There are no reviews for previous versions of this product
Refreshing...

Product Details

Edition
Second Printing
Publisher
Monolith Press
Published
September 27, 2011
Language
English
Pages
138
File Format
PDF
File Size
2.55 MB

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch... (See More)
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes
Report This Content to Lulu >

Moderation of Questionable Content

Thank you for your interest in helping us moderate questionable content on Lulu. If you need assistance with an order or the publishing process, please contact our support team directly.

How does this content violate the Lulu Membership Agreement?

Keywords

Listed In

More From Wil Wheaton