Lulu Marketplace

Ratings & Reviews

Log in to review this item
Lulu Sales Rank: 3815
20 People Reviewed This Product
Show: Recent
  • By kali
    Nov 11, 2009
    I loved this. Have already bought four copies, got on to buy another. Because I am a geek vector. I can't begin to count how often I laughed out loud listening to the podcasts (The rare MacGuffin Element! Space herpes, or "Kirk's Syndrome"! Cargo bays full of hats!). Well worth the read.
  • By loveistheonlyway
    Nov 5, 2009
    The short version: If you like to hear behind-the-scenes memories, incredible snark, and an interesting perspective on Star Trek: The Next Generation's first season, you should buy this book. But only if you can handle the snark. The long version: Full of snark, hilariously paraphrased dialogue, and worship for the acting of Patrick Stewart, MotF is an interesting review of TNG's shaky first season. There's no shortage of behind the scenes memories in MotF, and it's good fun to hear them from the perspective of Wil-looking-back. I wish there were more quotable dialogue [[It really irks me that Wil spells this word "dialog" but my dictionary says both are acceptable. My spellcheck is having issues with the way Wil spells his name though... I guess I should stop digressing now.]] but the amount given (one to five lines per episode, typically) is enough to make me want to go buy the first season on DVD and hear what the rest of the episode was like. [[No, I haven't seen all the... More > episodes in TNG's first season... I was an infant when it began airing. What I have seen was aired by the SciFi channel on their Monday TNG marathons. Not having seen all of the episodes did NOT make Wil's book any harder to follow, as he helpfully (and did I mention hilariously?) recaps each episode as he reviews it. Thanks, Wil. But I digress again.]] Some of the grades Wil gives out are a bit harsh, too, but he's looking at the series from a completely different perspective than I, so that's understandable. (For example, he looks at Picard and compares his actions to those of Kirk, just like any other Trekkie would. I, who wasn't exposed to TOS until Picard was firmly established in my brain as THE Captain, was appalled by Kirk.) I can understand that some people will not enjoy this book. I do not recommend it if you suffer from any of the following: lack of a sense of humor, inability to laugh at your own mistakes, or inability to laugh at the mistakes of others. Seriously though, Wil does a lot of snarky ranting, and if you can't handle that, get off my lawn! And, er, don't buy this book. As this is the first edition, errors were present, but not so bad a normal person would notice. But the inner editor in me flinched at each error I found. That could be just because I am a grammar geek. (Or is it nerd? I'll go with geek, for the alliteration. See what I mean? GEEK!) If you've never read any of Wil's stuff and you're nervous about spending $20.00 on a book by an author you've never read before (where have you been?), check out the preliminary episode reviews here: http://www.tvsquad.com/bloggers/wil-wheaton/ but don't expect the reviews in the book to be the same. For one thing, Wil brought in some experts (my personal favorite was Phil Plait, aka The Bad Astronomer) and includes a response from one of the writers of one of the episodes to which he gives a bad grade. Anyways, I greatly enjoyed MotF V1, and if you've made it all the way through this review, you probably will as well!< Less
  • By stephenpatrickjohnston
    Nov 1, 2009
    I enjoyed the column so much, I bought the book. This is the perfect companion read for an indulgent re-watch of Next Generation's painful but hugely ambitious first season, itself an only partly-successful project that nevertheless revived the whole notion of SF on TV, not just Star Trek itself. Wil Wheaton's perspective is fascinating, his observations both generous and hilarious. The language is sometimes a bit crude for my taste, but the writing itself is always sharp and often highly evocative of a very specific time for both the author and the show. Being the same age as Wil, I was no fan of Wesley Crusher when Next Generation started (although nor was I a contributor to alt.wesley.crusher.die.die.die), but by the time Menage a Troi aired I'd warmed to him considerably. Had I had this book in my library during the first season of TNG, that thaw might have set in a lot earlier. This marked my first purchase of Lulu and print-to-order in general, and I'm impressed - printed and... More > shipped to me within a week, good quality paper and binding, and relatively few typos. I'll certainly use the service again. Unreservedly recommended for anyone interested in Star Trek's return to TV, or anyone who enjoys Wil Wheaton's autobiographical outings.< Less
  • By Kathy Ward
    Oct 31, 2009
    Simply too many hilarious pop-culture+TNG moments to count, making for a great read. Can't wait for Volume 2! (Go for the podcasts too, for extra goodies!)
  • By amkardel
    Oct 28, 2009
    I bought this book expecting to enjoy it based on Wil Wheaton's blog which is always a fun read. I didn't expect to find the 14-year-old version of him writing this book in his stead. I laughed once or twice when the adult Wil slipped in, but all in all I was disappointed.
  • By thebadastronomer
    Oct 26, 2009
    Simply put, this is Wil at his best. He is funny, snarky, warm, and thoughtful in these reviews and memories of TNG. And I'm not just saying that because he let me write three paragraphs for it or that I have a not-so-secret mancrush on him. This book really is a joy for fans of TNG; I laughed a lot at things I barely remembered from watching the show when it came out, and laughed even harder from the scenes I remember all too well. His "Behind the Scenes Memories" section are just wonderful, too. If you're a fan of Wil's you'll probably buy this anyway, but if you're a TNG fan then this is a must have. [Insert lame "Make it so" joke here.]
  • By postal333
    Oct 24, 2009
    This book reminds me of the finest episodes of Mystery Science Theater 3000. Mr. Wheaton gives some hilarious and some thoughtful insights on his former series. I can't help but be amazed by the cultural references I get but I'm sure alot of his readers may be too young to do so (such as Captain Q's Kangaroo court and the ping pong avalanche...). I am not a fan of "Next Generation" and the few esisodes I did see made a little anti-Wesley, but I'm a fan of Mr. Wheaton and his writing style. Reading his work is like listening to a good friend tell you his favorite stories, full of heart and snark. Believe me, even non-trekkies/trekkers will enjoy this book. Can't wait for the rest of the set!
  • By Roxanne Terrell
    Oct 19, 2009
    I loved reading this humemoir (humor + memoir? did I fail my neologism roll?). Wil Wheaton is one of the genuinely best writers I've come across, and he has really hit it out of the park on this book. This is one of the very few non-fiction books I have laughed along with. I would recommend this for anyone from a hard-core Trekkie to plain ol' geeks and the casual sci-fi watcher.
  • By danrk-001
    Oct 18, 2009
    AWESOME! AWESOME! IT IS THE BEST AND I HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME READING IT. I GOT THE BOOK YESTERDAY AND READ IT ALL. I was laughing so hard I had to stop for a pee break or two but it was great. Not to spoil anything but I loved the Gordi LaChance meets Wesley Crusher moment, EPIC! Anyway, I look forward to reading Volume 2. Also, did I mention it was AWESOME! Wil, your the best!
  • By Susan Mohn
    Oct 13, 2009
    While I can't yet rate this because I've not yet read it, if his twitter feed (@wilw) or his website (http://is.gd/ihF4) are even the smallest indication of his writing style, this book will be abso-frackin-lutely hilarious. Will writes with a charm and wit just not seen often enough these days. He's a thoughtful writer with a great sense of humor and the TNG reviews of his that I've read are wonderfully done. I'm buying this today - you all should too :>
Refreshing...

> Find Reviews for Previous Versions

There are no reviews for previous versions of this product
Refreshing...

Product Details

Edition
Second Printing
Publisher
Monolith Press
Published
December 21, 2009
Language
English
Pages
138
Binding
Perfect-bound Paperback
Interior Ink
Black & white
Weight
0.57 lbs.
Dimensions (inches)
6 wide x 9 tall
Report This Content to Lulu >

Moderation of Questionable Content

Thank you for your interest in helping us moderate questionable content on Lulu. If you need assistance with an order or the publishing process, please contact our support team directly.

How does this content violate the Lulu Membership Agreement?

Keywords

Listed In

More From Wil Wheaton