Show Bookstore Categories

Two Against the Underworld - The Collected Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers Series 1

ByRichard McGinlayAlan Hayes

Usually printed in 3 - 5 business days
If you think you’ve read the definitive account of THE AVENGERS’ lost year... think again! Two Against the Underworld brings together eight years of research and combines and updates two previously published books (The Strange Case of the Missing Episodes and With Umbrella, Scotch and Cigarettes) to tell the story of The Avengers from both sides of the camera. Comprehensive chapters detail the narratives of all 26 episodes, often with script extracts, as well as the production, transmission and reception of each episode, and the talented personnel who were involved in making them. The creation of The Avengers, the departure of Ian Hendry, the series’ destiny, and the mystery of the missing episodes, are explored in a series of essays, each of which has been revisited to incorporate fresh information. Avengers scriptwriter Roger Marshall and Neil Hendry, who runs his uncle Ian Hendry’s official website, both contribute forewords to this volume. The book also boasts lavish black-and-white illustrations by artist Shaqui Le Vesconte and more than 70 pages of appendices that deal in depth with the unproduced episodes of Series 1, Keel and Steed’s further adventures in the comic strip The Drug Pedlar and the novel Too Many Targets, and much more.


Publication Date
Jun 11, 2022
All Rights Reserved - Standard Copyright License
By (author): Richard McGinlay, By (author): Alan Hayes, By (author): Alys Hayes


Perfect Bound
Interior Color
Black & White
US Trade (6 x 9 in / 152 x 229 mm)

Ratings & Reviews