Show Bookstore Categories

The London Standards

The London Standards

The Three Forms of Baptist Unity

ByCorey Bailey

Usually printed in 3 - 5 business days
The London Standards seek to combine the three doctrinal standards that were commissioned, published, and adopted by the English Particular Baptists of the 17th century. The First London Confession of Faith (1LCF) was first published in 1644 and revised in 1646. This confession was first published by the Calvinistic Baptists to demonstrate their orthodoxy and distinguish themselves from the Anabaptist of which they were falsely and unjustly accused of being. The Second London Confession of Faith (2LCF) was first published in 1677 — most likely at the Petty France church pastored by William Collins and Nehemiah Coxe — and then adopted by the London Baptist Association in 1689. The 2LCF was published for two major reasons: First, access to the 1LCF was scarce and many in the London Baptist Association had never read or even seen this particular confession. Secondly, the 2LCF is an edited baptistic form of the Westminster Confession of Faith and the Savoy Declaration; therefore, the Particular Baptist published and adopted this confession to show their catholicity within the English Reformation movement, specifically with the Presbyterians and Congregationalists. Lastly, the Baptist Catechism was commissioned by the London General Assembly in June of 1693. The baptist minister and historian Joseph Ivimey described the commision as such: “That a Catechism be drawn up, containing the substance of the Christian religion, for the instruction of children and servants, and that brother William Collins be desired to draw it up.” Therefore, this volume contains these three documents which faithfully express the faith and beliefs of the 17th century Particular Baptists and those who still profess this faith. Likewise, I have included the appendix to the 1LCF written by Benjamin Coxe, and the appendix to the 2LCF written most likely by Nehemiah Coxe, Benjamin’s son. This volume also contains the 1LCF Appendix, 2 LCF appendix, Apostles' Creed, Nicene Creed, Athanasian Creed, and the Chalcedonian Definition.


Publication Date
Sep 12, 2023
Religion & Spirituality
No Known Copyright (Public Domain)
Edited by: Corey Bailey


Case Wrap
Interior Color
US Trade (6 x 9 in / 152 x 229 mm)

Ratings & Reviews