Author Spotlight
Clinical, Brutal... Cutting Edge
Retail Island By Christopher Nosnibor
eBook (ePub): $5.35
Was it something in the air – or the air-conditioning? Something strange is going on at the office of multinational pharmaceutical company, Medico, and the adjacent new retail park. Robert... More > Ashton is hired to work on the mysterious Project Mushroom and finds himself in the middle of a strange and dangerous situation involving mind control, riots, bad science, and sexual deviance. A taut dystopian thriller in the tradition of JG Ballard, 'Retail Island' is dark and perverse, a commentary on consumerism, and an unsettling tale of modern times.< Less
Retail Island By Christopher Nosnibor
Paperback: $9.99
Prints in 3-5 business days
Was it something in the air – or the air-conditioning? Something strange is going on at the office of multinational pharmaceutical company, Medico, and the adjacent new retail park. Robert... More > Ashton is hired to work on the mysterious Project Mushroom and finds himself in the middle of a strange and dangerous situation involving mind control, riots, bad science, and sexual deviance. A taut dystopian thriller in the tradition of JG Ballard, 'Retail Island' is dark and perverse, a commentary on consumerism, and an unsettling tale of modern times.< Less
The RAGE Monologues By Christopher Nosnibor
Paperback: $7.32
Prints in 3-5 business days
Modern life is full of niggles and frustrations. It’s also bursting with ballaches and tempestuous turmoils on a global scale. What is it that winds you up or grinds your gears? Sometimes,... More > it’s an accumulation of the little things that push you to, or over, the brink. So, what gets under your skin, gnaws away at your gut, and drives you crazy? For Christopher Nosnibor, the answer is pretty much everything. Evolved as a spoken word project over the course of three years, 'The Rage Monologues' is the hoarse, enraged, spittle-spraying voice of one man against the world. Politics, media, poetry, and post office queues – it’s open season in this collection of splenetic, profanity-laden tirades. By turns amusing, sad, and simply ire-fuelling, 'The Rage Monologues' is a relentless, uncompromising, and eye-poppingly vitriolic tour de force.< Less
The Rage Monologues By Christopher Nosnibor
eBook (ePub): $3.66
Modern life is full of niggles and frustrations. It’s also bursting with ballaches and tempestuous turmoils on a global scale. What is it that winds you up or grinds your gears? Sometimes,... More > it’s an accumulation of the little things that push you to, or over, the brink. So, what gets under your skin, gnaws away at your gut, and drives you crazy? For Christopher Nosnibor, the answer is pretty much everything. Evolved as a spoken word project over the course of three years, 'The Rage Monologues' is the hoarse, enraged, spittle-spraying voice of one man against the world. Politics, media, poetry, and post office queues – it’s open season in this collection of splenetic, profanity-laden tirades. By turns amusing, sad, and simply ire-fuelling, 'The Rage Monologues' is a relentless, uncompromising, and eye-poppingly vitriolic tour de force.< Less
Grind: A Novel By Stuart Bateman
Paperback: $9.58
Prints in 3-5 business days
'Grind' is the story of Adam Johnson, a corporate everyman in his mid-thirties. 'Grind' is what happens when 'Generation X' drifts into day-jobs. With the ennui of Michel Houellebecq's 'Whatever' and... More > the bleakness of Michael Bracewell's 'Perfect Tense', Stuart Bateman's debut novel captures succinctly the emptiness of everyday existence in the early 21st century.< Less
Hack By James Wells
Paperback: $10.94
Prints in 3-5 business days
Rob Price is a music journalist. He's a hard-drinking hack who's frustrated, skint and cynical, and he's drowning in a pile of CDs to review that he simply doesn't have the time to listen to. He's... More > not only got money issues, but girlfriend issues, flatmate issues, personal hygiene issues and a rampant libido he's incapable of keeping in check after a few pints. 'Hack' follows Rob round endless seedy dive venues as he finds himself at odds with the people he meets in an industry teeming with hangers on, wannabes, maybes and no-hopers, as he sneers, snorts, tokes and spews his way through a succession of sordid encounters and dangerous liaisons in his quest for that 'big' story. A graphic and darkly comic tale of misanthropy, music and misadventure.< Less
Clinical, Brutal 2: Incisive Writing with Guts By Christopher Nosnibor
Paperback: $13.89
Prints in 3-5 business days
The core vision of Clinical Brutality, the mode of writing espoused by Clinicality Press’ publications revolves around the idea of everyday violences depicted in the most direct, clinical and... More > even medical terms. Life is brutal. The smallest interactions can extract immense measures of pain, from a simple word that serves as the twist of an invisible knife to the all too common domestic slap around the face or even the playful punch. No harm intended, no offense meant, but plenty taken and untold damage done. Clinical Brutality is all about the everyday, thrown into sharp, crystalline relief – so sharp it stings, so sharp it draws blood and leaves mental scars for all eternity. 'Clinical, Brutal 2' follows the original 2010 anthology and collects the cream of the contemporary literary crop in one hard-hitting volume.< Less
The Changing Face of Consumerism By Christopher Nosnibor
Paperback: List Price: $5.84 $4.09 | You Save: 30%
Prints in 3-5 business days
'The Changing Face of Consumerism' could be considered to be the equivalent of Roland Barthes' 'Mythologies' for the Facebook / Credit Crunch generation. Based on a series of blog posts penned... More > between 2007 and 2013, 'The Changing Face of Consumerism' charts one man's experience of a rapidly evolving consumer culture during the credit crunch and recession years. The Changing Face of Consumerism presents a snapshot of an eventful time in modern history, from the demise of MySpace and the local record store, to the rise of the Kindle and the resurgent popularity of home-brewed beer. Ponderous, insightful, wry and sometimes splenetic, Nosnibor's writing is sharp and keenly observed, making The Changing Face of Consumerism an essential read for anyone with an interest in the effects of late capitalism on day-today life.< Less
The Plagiarist By Christopher Nosnibor
eBook (ePub): $4.60
Ben is struggling to find his way in postmodern society; lost in a blizzard of information, his very identity is fading. As he struggles to find his way The Plagiarist - a mysterious, soluble... More > character, half-real, half-imaginary, ever constant but never the same - acts as a guide who shows Ben to the edge of the precipice. But can he be trusted This curious anti-novel may have all the answers... A riot of experimentation, The Plagiarist is an example of contemporary theory in practice, melding Bloom's theories on influence to a series of unreliable or schizophrenic narrators against a backdrop created by Frederic Jameson. With a narrative fabricated from the effluvia of the now, which continues the work started by Burroughs and developed by contemporaries like Kenji Siratori, this book demonstrates how postmodern society can cause the individual to lose themselves and the plot.< Less
This Book is Fucking Stupid By Christopher Nosnibor
Paperback: $11.18
Prints in 3-5 business days
(1 Ratings)
Ben and Stuart are old friends. Having known one another since school, they’ve grown up together and remained friends into adulthood. But now into their thirties, their lives have taken very... More > different paths, and they’re now very different people, leading very different lives, following different careers. Ben is a conformist: office job, moderately successful, and teetering on the brink of a premature midlife crisis. Stuart is a rebellious non-conformist, a lifelong student and a writer who sneers at the humdrum and derides corporate sell-outs. At the heart of this radical novel that dismantles the very notion of 'the novel' lies a thought-provoking work that challenges notions of authorship and the distinctions that separate theory, criticism, fiction and memoir, there lies a touching tale of midlife anxiety in the postmodern age of late capitalism and information overload.< Less